JOYEUX THANKSGIVING Transfer 8 Week 5

img_4571Mission Week 55

BONJOUR TOUT LE MONDE!!!!!!!!
C’est Soeur Vogel!!!! 🙂  I hope this email finds you well, and happy and healthy!!! 🙂
This week has been…well like normal!! Lol!!! But so wonderful serving the Lord 🙂
We have a new investigator, Morinda, who I think I mentioned in last week’s email, but she is literally AWESOME!!! She is the nanny for Maleko’s child, and we have been meeting with her everyday!!! She is from Vanutau so she only speaks bislama and english, so we teach her in english!! But she is literally AMAZING!! We have met with her about everyday, and she is progressing wonderfully!  She reads in the Book of Mormon the things we leave her to read, and highlights and underlines what she likes!! This past week we finished teaching her about the Plan of Salvation, and she cried!! The spirit was so strong!!! We have already talked with her about baptism, she is just a little scared, but we know with time she will find the courage to enter into the waters of baptism as her testimony grows in the gospel!! We are so grateful, she is our shining light!! (insert picture here….)
Last Friday night was the young women’s “Soiree of Excellence” or Young Women’s in Excellence!! Basically, it is a night at the church where are the young women come and share what they learned over the past year spiritually, and share spiritual experiences, and have a good time!! So the young women wanted us to come, so we went with Morinda, and WOW, what an awesome night!! It was so fun!! The young women danced dances to the different cultures here in New Caledonia (Tahitian, Walesian, Caledonian,etc) and they were BEAUTIFUL!! But the best part was when they all sat around and sang spiritual songs!! Oh the spirit was SO STRONG, and I just gelt SO MUCH LOVE for them, for my mission, for my Heavenly Father!! It really hit me that I was here, on a beautiful island in the middle of the pacific ocean, sharing the word of God.  And in the process, Heavenly Father has granted me such a love for these people, for His children here in the middle of the sea!! I love them so much, and I am so grateful to have spent so much of my mission here in Paita, serving in the Tontouta ward!  It has been about 8 months now, and I love these people more than I can say!! They are my family, and oh how hard it will be to leave them!! But grateful to my Heavenly Father for sending me here, for giving me this opportunity to share in their culture, to learn from them, and to labor in His vineyard together!! I love my mission!! 🙂
This past weekend we also had STAKE CONFERENCE! Which brought exciting new changes…THE CREATION OF A NEW WARD (new congregation)!! So exciting because that means the church is expanding, and the work is progressing!! UNFORTUNEATELY, it effects part of our area, so we will be loosing some of our members and our investigators, but for the moment it is going to stay the same until the end of the transfer in two weeks, so yah, we will see!!! BUT STILL EXCITING NEWS!!! YAY!!! Also, I just love stake conference, spending time with the other saints here in New Cal, and learning from them!! It was so so fun!!
We still have our awesome ami, Simon!! He is progressing nicely, and he is just so funny!! He wants to change his life so so bad, and is starting to make the changes little by little, with help from the Lord 🙂  He is reading the Book of Mormon, and is doing AWESOME!! We are excited!! We have already invited him to be baptized, now it is just HIS turn to follow the spirit and say yes!! HEHEHEHE!! But we are confident that he too with time will come to accept and enter into the waters of baptism and bring salvation to his soul hehee 🙂
Anyways family and friends, that is about it from updates ici, just know that all is well!! That I love my life!! I love my mission!! I love my companion, I love my area, I love my ward, all is well 🙂
Speaking of which, HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! We will be making ourselves a nice meal on Sunday, but as for tomorrow, we will be working working working like usual 🙂 HOWEVER, this week I have been reflecting….We have been sharing this past week with our members a gratitude pensee… ALMA 26:2:
 
 And now, ask, what great blessings has he bestowedupon us? Can ye tell?”
 
Our loving Heavenly Father blesses us beyond compare. He has given us this earth, our lives, our families, our successes, our trials, our love, He has given us ALL that we have, because He loves us!  My heart is OVERWHELMED with gratitude to my Heavenly Father for this past year of my life, that has been blessed beyong compare.  Over this past year, I left my family, I left my life, and I became a full-time servant for my Heavenly Father!  It has NOT been easy, and there have been many times where I have had to push myself to keep going!  But HOW REWARDING an experience, how beautiful a calling I have been giving!! And I have been blessed beyond compare!  This past year I have seen 7 of the people I have taught enter into the waters of baptism!  I have seen numerous people be touched by the spirit of the Lord by learning of His gospel and of His love for them! I have seen the Lord use me as an instrument in His hands to bring happiness and peace and joy into the lives of His children.  I have REALLY seen the gift of tongues in action, to bring ME, a girl who didn’t speak french AT ALL come to have the ability to speak and teach and think and live FRENCH in just a year’s time!  But most importantly I have seen the atonement of Christ change the hearts of those around me, but most importantly my heart..I love my Savior and I am eternally grateful for the sacrifice He made for me, so that I can receive strength.  The atonement has carried me over the past year, and I know it will continue to carry me in the months that rest.  I know that Chirst lives!  
 
But lastly, I am so grateful to my Heavenly Father for granting me the opportunity to have a testimony of the truth.  I know this gospel is true!! It is the source of my light, my joy, my happiness!! My testimony is the greatest possession I have.  I would not trade it for the world.  I cannot deny, this gospel is true, this church is true.  God lives. Chirst lives. The Book of Mormon IS the word of God.  Joseph Smith SAW God and Jesus Christ, he restored the church of Jesus Christ on the earth, and that is found in the church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints.  We have a living prophet on the earth today.  His name is Thomas S Monson.  He leads and directs us through revelation from God.  I know this is true!  And beacuse I know it is true, I can live with peace.  I don’t need to worry about the big questions in life, I can live with confidence that I have a father in Heaven who loves me and cares for me, and will lead me safely home to Him again one day.  I am so grateful to my Heavenly Father who gave me this witness through the Holy Ghost that these things are true, when I was just a young girl searching for peace, searching for truth.  
 
My family and friends, I wish for you a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday filled with good family vibes 🙂  BUT my greatest wish for you is this happiness that I have found!  The church is true!! Find out more: mormon.org 🙂
 
I love you all so so so so much and cannot thank you ENOUGH for your love and support!  You bless me and encourage me more than you know!! 
 
Have a wonderful week, and don’t forget to SMILE 🙂
 
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Soeur Vogel 🙂
 
ps no pics 
pps smile if you are not smiling already
ppps say a prayer JUST of gratitude to your Heavenly Father, it will brighten your day 🙂
ppppps shout out to the Chard family, have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and thanks for the thanksgiving food, we are so excited 🙂
Leave a Reply

