LAY DOWN YOUR LIFE FOR THE LORD: Transfer 3 Week 4

(MISSION WEEK 25)

BONJOUR MES FAMILLES AND MES AMIS AND TOUT LES PERSONNES QUE J’AIME!!!!

Hello, it’s me! 🙂  Soeur Vogel!!!!

Okay we had a pretty great great great week!  Comme d’habitude, like usual!

HMMMM, so yah, we have just been doing missionary work and missionary work and missionary work!!  I can’t remember if I have said this before, but there are A LOT of inactives in Paita, so we spend a lot of time with them!  It is so bizarre because they all have such strong testimonies, but they just don’t get themselves to church!  I don’t know…we are working on it 🙂

Our mission president gave us a challenge at our mission meeting last week to have twenty lessons each week, which is normal in some missions, but is pretty hard here in New Cal because the people LOVE to talk! Sometimes we are at lessons for two and a half hours, and that is all the one person talking….so yah, we are trying now to cut our lessons down so that we see more people and help them come closer to Christ 🙂  ANYWAYS, so Saturday Soeur Reorau and I realized we probably were not going to make the goal of 20 lessons, but we tried really really hard!  We ended up having 8 lessons that day, so that was cool 🙂  THIS WEEK WE WILL GET TWENTY!

So our amie, MAMI JOSEPHINE came to church on Sunday, she loved it!  And yesterday we challenged her to be baptized, and she accepted!  SHE IS GETTING BAPTIZED THE 7 of MAY!!!!!  WOOHOO ANOTHER BAPTISM! She is so great and so prepared, and I just love her!  She loves the gospel, and loves meeting with us!  We usually meet with her twice a week and do service for her because she is old, but it is fun 🙂  SHE IS GETTING BAPTIZED YAY! 🙂

ALSO ANOTHER COOL EXPERIENCE!  We have been working a lot with this less active family who is coming back to church, but they have a lot of trials in their life, so we see them a lot!  Yesterday I was on exchanges with my Sister Training Leader, Soeur Rooarii, and I just felt like we should go and stop by this less active family’s house!  When we got there and started the lesson about enduring through trials, this wonderful woman, Yvonne, said she had to share with us that the scripture we shared with her was EXACTLY what she needed, and that right before we showed up, she was praying to Heavenly Father to send her some help and direction…and literally as she said Amen, we pulled up to her house.  LIKE SO COOL!  I was like whoa really?!  Because it wasn’t like I felt this strong prompting to go there, but the spirit works quietly and subtly, so I am glad I didn’t miss it!  AHHH!!!!! I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY!

Anyways those were the cool experiences from this past week 🙂  OH!  I gave a talk in church!!!!  My french is still terrible I feel like, but at least I can understand people, and respond, I am just tired of having to think about what I have to say, I just want to talk!  But I know it will come, so I continue to move forward!  ANYWAYS, a lot of people complimented me on my talk,and of course they all laugh because I am the happiest person they have ever met!  Well that is nice to hear!  But when you are in the service of the Lord, I just can’t help but be happy! 🙂

SOOO, like I said I had exchanges with my Sister Training Leader yesterday which happens once every transfer!  Soeur Rooarii!  She is from Tahiti as well, but she speaks awesome english!  We still talked in french though so I didn’t get a break from that!  I stayed in Paita with her which was fun because I still feel so new to this area, but we managed to get around okay, so yay!!  But she told me something that I LOVED!   She told me to not be afraid to be creative and use my talents to help bring people into the gospel.  She told me to sing with those that I teach, because when I sing, I really bring the spirit!  I was like WHOA thanks girl!  But it was so nice to hear that because I want the spirit to be more present in our lessons, and she told me how!  And of course, I love singing so that was great 🙂

OKAY so during my studies I came across a verse in the Doctrine and Covenants that says “Lay down your life for me (the Lord), and you shall find it”  or something like that hah!  But I love that verse so so so much, because IT IS SO TRUE!!!!  The gospel has molded me into who I am supposed to be.  It has molded me into the person I am today, and as I say always, IT GIVES ME ALL MY HAPPINESS!!!  But I have been thinking how I can more fully devote myself to the Lord, and so my question for myself has been, how can I more fully lay down my life for the Lord?  So, I have been working on that, really forgetting myself, and really really really getting into the work!  🙂

OKAY!!!  Well this week should be exciting but I will talk about that next week 🙂  Soeur Reorau and I are doing great!  My french is coming as always, and I LOVE THESE PEOPLE!  AND WE HAVE ANOTHER BAPTISM!!! Oh, the Lord is good 🙂

Have a wonderful wonderful WONDERFUL week my wonderful family and friends!  The gospel is TRUE!  It is my light and source of happiness!  I love it with all my heart!

Until next week!
Soeur Vogel 🙂
PICTURES: My beautiful collegue picking citron from the citron tree, so delicious 🙂
IMG_1274
Mami Josephine and I at the chappelle on Sunday 🙂
IMG_1294
Soeur Rooarii and I after our exchange on today!   She is so great 🙂
IMG_1298
Leave a Reply

