Transfer 2 Week 7 VACATION WEEK

(MISSION WEEK 19)

BONJOUR TOUT LE MONDE!
Wow what a week it has been!!!  Seriously, the past week has felt like we were on vacation!  Basically we had Zone Conference Monday and Tuesday, Pday Wednesday, and and then an activity with our ward on Saturday, so we have just been having a good old time all week!  I mean it is always a good time when you are serving the Lord, but this week was a little different then the last, and it went by so quickly!  Ahh, this longest transfer ever is finishing up so so soon!  My companion will be home in two weeks!  I am so excited for her, but oh how I will miss her!
ANYWAYS, on to my week!
SO ZONE CONFERENCE:
So we had zone conference in the church building right across from the beach in a town called Magenta, well it is actually the city, and it was so nice!  We had our mission president here for two days from Vanuatu, but it is always interesting because he does not speak french, and some of the missionaries here from Tahiti only speak french!  But we just have translation, and everyone still has a grand old time!  So Zone conferences here are so fun!  There are about twenty missionaries in our zone (there are only two zones on the island), and we are spread out throughout the entire northern part of the island, so we don’t see each other too often, so it was fun to have everyone down for the week!  Monday morning we had trainings which were so great!  We talked about having ourselves clean on the outside and the inside so that people can sense the wonderful message we have to share before we even open our mouths!
After that we had our interviews with our mission president and then we had a …. VARIETY SHOW!  And we had permission to DANCE!  That is right IT WAS SO AWESOME!  Our president loves to have fun, and so we danced our little hearts out!  We did the WAKA WAKA and the whip and the nay nay and we did tahitian dancing and samoan dancing, and sang songs, and it was just so much fun!  There are so many wonderful cultures here and it is so much fun to be a part of it all!
Then  Tuesday Sister Granger (our mission president’s wife) came out with Soeur Westerlind and I in our area!  We had no lessons PLANNED, but ended up having two that WERE SO GREAT!  We challenged both to be baptized, and they both accepted!  They haven’t wanted to fix the date yet, but their desire is there so yay!  One of them was Tess 🙂  She is the most prepared for sure, I think she is scared because she just started meeting with us, but as she continues to take the lessons and go to church, I know she will be ready 🙂
Then Tuesday night we had our big training from President Granger which was alL about the atonement.  He read a call letter to us and asked us to remember how we felt when we read our call letters, to remember why we came out here, and to go forth and do the work that we came here to do.  It was just so great.  It is crazy, it had been a year since I started my papers, but it has flown by!  Now I am actually here, on this beautiful island, serving the Lord!  I don’t want to waste one minute!
WEDNESDAY was PDAY and we had a district activity!  We hiked THE HARDEST hike on New Cal!  Chapeau Jont Darme.  IT WAS HARD! My legs still hurt, but it was so much fun!  It was pretty much straight up the whole time and there isnt really a trail so you just climb (Dont worry it is SAFE)  And then it started downpouring when we were at the top, so it was slippery coming down, but we pretty much just slide down the mountain.  I had to throw my pants out because they were so dirty!  It was great and definitely a bonding experience for all!
We had some lessons with our progressing investigators the rest of the week: Tess and Frere Fitialeata!  We also had our English class, and Saturday we had an activity with some families in our area!  There were suppossed to be a lot of inactives there but it started raining so not a lot of people showed up.  But it was fun to bond with the members none the less!  We did Karoke, which I have been begging to do since I got here!  It was so fun!
Anyways all, here I am Pday again!  So sorry not too much to report on a spiritual level, but still a great week!  The work continues!  Only two more weeks left of this transfer, and because my companion is going home, we are kind of doing her farewell tour, visiting all the people she taught and having dinner with members etc etc!  But this week we want to set Frere Fitialteata’s baptismal date, and we are continuing to contact all of our potentials!
My french continues to improve! I can talk on the phone now!  But when people start talking a lot I have to hand it to my companion because I can’t understand, but hey, I can survive here!  WOOHOO!
Anyways, that was my week my wonderful family and friends!  Look out for the Easter Video coming soon, and remember your wonderful Savior Jesus Christ who died and suffered just for you!  This easter season I am remembering the scripture in Isiah 53:3 to 5
Christ lives.  Come unto him, and feel peace.  I love my Savior so much.  I love the atonement.  It is why I am here.  It is why I have been changed for good!  It is the source of my neverending supply of happiness! Oh the church is true my family and friends!  It is so so so true!
Okay, I HAVE LOTS of pictures to send this week, so stay intuned!
Until next week,
Your Soeur Vogel 🙂
Isaiah 53:

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

*Note photos will be added

Leave a Reply

