BONJOUR BONJOUR BONJOUR-Mesa WEEK 3

Mission Week 8:

BONJOUR TOUT LE MONDE!!!!!  Oh my goodness, WHAT A WEEK!!!!  Seriously, one of the busiest of my life.  Soeur Merrell and I have not stopped going, it’s been crazy!
Basically, we have been working in the Visitor’s Center/Christmas lights ALL WEEK!  And of course, the week of Christmas is the busiest week!  Also, for those who do not know what a Visitor’s Center is…it’s just a center where you can learn more about LDS beliefs through cool things like videos, “exhibits” etc.  But it is so cool to work there because it’s like you are working at a museum!  But, you get to share you testimony about Christ, which is what makes it GREAT! So usually we are just outside at night talking to people, but one night this week we were working inside at the different “exhibits.”  So I got to work at the new missionary exhibit (like the one in Salt Lake with the people from the district), the Christmas videos, and a cool exhibit about how God blesses families!  So that was fun!  But because we have been spending so much time there, we have had like NO TIME with anyone in our area.  Last night was the first time we had been in our area since Monday Night.  So yah, it’s been crazy!
But, we did have a miracle lesson Monday night with this guy named James!  We just street contacted him, but he seems super prepared for the gospel!  We taught him the first lesson (all about the restoration) Monday night, and gave him a Book of Mormon to read and pray about!  He said it is something that he wants to believe in, so we are hoping he sticks with that desire!  Unfortunately, we were so busy that we were not going to be able to meet with him again until this next week.  BUT!  He came to Christmas lights when we were on shift!  Which was super cool.  I was praying to know who Heavenly Father should have me go talk to and then as soon as I opened my eyes, he was walking by!  I freaked out (you know me)  I yelled JAMES!!!!  And he came right on over!  He said he noticed a feeling of peace being here, and we got to teach him about the temple!  IT WAS GREAT AND A TENDER MERCY FROM THE LORD!!!  I can’t wait to teach him again!
Other than that, we haven’t taught too many other lessons!  But everyone has been busy this past week with Christmas, so we are not worrying too much about it!  This week, we should be able to meet with those who are striving to come closer to Christ!  I am excited to finally discover what “real” missionary life is like LOL!
Speaking of Christmas… I HOPE YOU ALL HAD A WONDERFUL ONE!  Mine was great!  Christmas Eve we had dinner at one of our Bishop’s houses, and then worked at the Christmas lights, which was awesome because IT WAS PACKED!  Then Friday we woke up, opened presents, and headed over to a member’s house for breakfast!  They have a missionary out right now, so they let us skype at their house, and just gave us lots of loving (and by loving I mean food)!  We then had a white elephant exchange with some other missionaries, and then simply hung out with some other sisters that we love and adore!  IT WAS NICE TO JUST RELAX!  Which was exactly what I needed!  Then that night, we went to another member’s house for dinner!  They also have a missionary out, so they understand the missionary life and they also gave us lots of loving (again food……)  THEN!  We closed off our night with singing at the Temple / Christmas Lights with all the missionaries in the mission!  IT WAS SO AMAZING!  THE SPIRIT WAS SO STRONG WHEN WE WERE SINGING!  I loved it so much!  And then I got to see my other New Cal elders, so it was so fantastic!  Truly, one of the greatest Christmases I have ever had!  Also, there is an elder in the mission who is from France (Elder Watkins’ trainer actually…I know that Lord works in mysterious ways!)  Anyways, I like to talk french with the Elder from France (Elder Renel) whenever I see him!  AND HE GAVE ME A GREAT COMPLIMENT!  He said my french was good!!!  AND THAT IS SAYING SOMETHING COMING FROM HIM!!! Now I am not so worried going to New Cal… 🙂
Still no word on our Visas, but the time here is not too bad!  I think we will survive!  Totally different world here, but the work is still the same, bring souls to Christ!  My companion is still awesome!  We have had some good laughs this week (including her talking and sharing the gospel in her sleep) which has made our time even more enjoyable!
I can’t express it enough, I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY!  This is seriously the happiest I have ever felt in my entire life!  Heavenly Father is so mindful of us, and He truly does direct our lives.  I am learning to trust in Him even more, to rely more on His spirit, and to align my will more with His.  I hope that I can be molded into who He would have me become.  Until then, I’ll just keep trying!
I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH!  AND WISH YOU THE HAPPIEST OF WEEKS!  THANK YOU TO ALL WHO HAVE SENT ME THINGS THIS PAST WEEK, IT WAS A WONDERFUL JOY CHRISTMAS MORNING!  My heart is with you always!  KEEP THE FAITH!  And find the joy 🙂
Until next week!
-Soeur Vogel 🙂
PS:  Here is my address I forgot to put it last week:
Sister Karlee Vogel
2525 N 32nd St
Mesa, Arizona 85213
PICS:
ONE:  “HEY I KNOW THIS KID….!” Darn you Elder Longo…..
week 8 a
TWO: CHRISTMAS MORNING!  (Yes I was exhausted..)
week 8 b
week 8 c
YAY CHRISTMAS
Leave a Reply

